Tags

, ,

Back in the mid-90s I happened upon a paperback book in a bookstore. I was getting ready for surgery and wanted a new book to pass the time during my recovery. The title of one book stood out to me as I passed by and I picked it up. I remember “knowing” I had to read this book. That book, “The Bridge Across Forever,” opened a door for me and so began my journey to seek out what lies beneath the surface of life.

There is so much more to life than what we see. We are so caught up in our daily routines and struggles that we miss our connections to others and we lose sight of our real purpose in this life. The author of that book, Richard Bach, enlightened me on those deeper connections. I finished that book and moved on to several others, including another must-read, “Illusions.”

I still carry Bach’s messages with me today. They are a reminder when I encounter struggle and forget the connections we all share. For example, there is a reason why you and I are here today, at this moment, on this blog. We are meant to share this space together. You have something to learn from me and I have something to learn from you. Our time together may be short or last much longer. But that time spent together is not ours to question why. It is to learn!

“That’s what learning is, after all; not whether we lose the game but how we lose and how we’ve changed because of it and what we take away from it that we never had before, to apply to other games. Losing, in a curious way, is winning.”

“There is nothing by chance, my friend…No such thing as luck. A meaning behind every little thing, and such a meaning behind this. Part for you, part for me, may not see it all real clear right now, but we will before long.”

I awoke yesterday feeling inspired and decided yesterday was the day to turn on this blog. A new adventure for me and hopefully one for you as well. I hope it will awaken my sleeping Spirit and send me out fully charged to pick up my camera and start capturing images and moments again…To awaken my thoughts and allow me to pour them into this blog…To learn more about what lies beneath the surface of life we all skim across every day…To stop finding my limitations and instead seek to soar!

“Every person, all the events in your life, are there because you have drawn them there. What you choose to do with them is up to you.”

“Argue for your limitations and their yours!”

Richard’s words will find their way to this blog often, as they always seem to fit the message. May he help you remember to soar as well!

The Bridge Across Forever

 

