Tags

, , , ,

Only after the last tree has been cut down –

Only after the last river has been poisoned –

Only after the last fish has been caught –

Only then will you realize that money cannot be eaten.

I have this Cree Prophesy written on a large, framed image in my home. Every time I see it, I am reminded how delicate the balance of life is. The human race is always pushing forward, always striving for the next greatest thing. But sometimes I wonder if we are too focused on technology and having more material things. It seems we have lost focus on some of the basic, fundamental needs in life and we have forgotten to nurture those things. They are slipping away.

Farmers and their lands are disappearing at a rapid pace. Forests, trees and the wilderness are destroyed to build more and more buildings, half of which sit empty. Our waters are polluted resulting in declining numbers of marine life and beaches that are not fit for us to enter.

Personally, I love the farmers and their farmlands and would choose to buy my food from a local farmer over a chain store any day. I love the vast open lands and fresh air that lets me breath and stretch and run. And I love to sit on a bank and take in a sunny day while I wait for a fish to take my bait.

City life has never been for me. You can take a girl out of the country but you will never take the country out of the girl! I don’t do well in crowds of people or busy, hectic cities with buildings and skyscrapers as far as I can see. 

I do better in the natural peace of nature and I hope nature doesn’t disappear completely….because if nature disappears, we will disappear, too.

