Tags

, , , ,

The most important kind of freedom is to be what you really are. You trade in your reality for a role. You trade in your sense for an act. You give up your ability to feel and in exchange, put on a mask. There can’t be any large-scale revolution until there’s a personal revolution, on an individual level. It’s got to happen inside first.” The words of Jim Morrison

A friend shared this quote recently and it really hit me. I guess you could say I have been struggling a bit the past year with the realization that so many of the characteristics that made me who I was in my younger years have seemed to go into hiding. And I miss those characteristics.

Jim Morrison had it right. As we grow older, we seem to trade in the things we love; the things that make us who we are in that special way. We trade them in or cover them up to morph into who our families and work, etc. need us to be.

Photography, working out, running, writing, reading, pampering myself with spa treatments, hiking, camping, traveling to the southwest, just being outdoors…..Where did all of these things go?

Do you ever feel like you are wearing a smile to hide something else? Do you ever look in the mirror and wonder who is staring back at you? I am learning that if I miss those ‘things’ and if I want them back, I need to stop looking for the large-scale revolution and start looking within myself. That is where the change has to start. And the hardest part is taking that first step, and then the next….

This blog is one of those steps….

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t wish any days away and I have no regrets. But I do miss some of those old characteristics and I am going to find a way to get them back. How to juggle those ‘things’ with current day schedules, work and kids….well, that is the big question, but it all has to start with me.

